Faculty of Physics and Mathematics


The Faculty of Physics and Mathematics is one of the oldest and largest faculties of the University. The faculty was founded in 1938 as one of the two main faculties of the Shymkent Teachers' Institute. Deans of the faculty were: Sarsenbaev M.S. (1950-1960); Yerimbetov M.I. (1960-1965); Bektayev K.B. (1965-1968); Tleukabylov S.E. (1968-1971). In 1971 the faculty was divided into two faculties: the mathematical faculty was headed by Nurbaev U.N. (1971-1983), and the physical faculty was headed by Volochaev SM. (1971-1972), Mamaev L.I. (1972-1975) and Baytasov U.B. (1975-1983).

In 1983, these two faculties were merged into one and the dean of the faculty was appointed Nurbaev U.N. (1983-1989), then Mamaev L.I. (1989-1993). Between 1940 and 1993, about 6,000 full-time students and more than 3,000 correspondence students became graduates of the faculty on the specialties of physics and mathematics. Many graduates now occupy leading positions in public authorities and in schools, higher educational institutions of the region and the Republic. In particular, Doctor of Economic Sciences M. Utebayev for several years was a senator and chairman of the Committee for Financial Monitoring of the Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Kazakhstan; Doctor of Pedagogical Sciences M. Kudaykulov - Professor of the Kazakh National Pedagogical University named after Abay; Doctor of Pedagogical Sciences Rakhymbek D.-Professor SKSPI; Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences Zhumabayev M. Zh.- Professor SKSPI; Issyk Әkim works in the personnel department of the Chancellery of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan. About 80% of teachers of physics and mathematics in the South-Kazakhstan region are graduates of our faculty.

In 2012-2013 academic year, the dean of the faculty was Candidate of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Docent K. Abdrakhmanov.

In the 2013-2016 academic year, the dean of the faculty was Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Professor M.Zh. Zhumabayev.

At present, the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics is headed by Candidate of Pedagogical Sciences, Ibashova A.B.

The faculty consists of three departments: mathematics, physics and computer science.

Currently, the total number of teachers is 56. The faculty has 4 doctors and professors, 28 candidates of science, associate professors and 24 undergraduates. The scientific and personnel potential of the faculty is 60.7%.

The faculty is fully equipped with the necessary educational and methodological base, including specialized laboratories with computer classes and modern equipment with technical teaching aids. The faculty has opened a laboratory "Robotics".

At the faculty, undergraduate education is prepared in 6 specialties:

1. 5B010900-Mathematics

5В011000 - Physics

3. 5В011100 - Computer Science

5В012600-Mathematics and Physics

5В012700-Mathematics and Computer Science

6. 5В012800 - Physics and computer science.


At the faculty, masters are trained in 3 specialties:

1. 6M010900-Mathematics

2. 6М011000 - Physics

3. 6М011100-Informatics.


The faculty prepares doctoral students in 2 specialties:

1. 6D010900 - Mathematics

2. 6D011000 – Physics

3. 6D011100 - Informatics.

A program of trilingual education has been set up at the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics.

Students, under the guidance of faculty teachers, take part in various competitions and win prizes.

For more than 80 years, the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics has trained more than 10,000 specialists in the field of computer science, mathematics and physics in various research institutes, schools and not only in the field of education in Kazakhstan, but also in the CIS countries and abroad.